- Global permissions - applies to all users, groups and teams
- Group-specific permissions - applies only to members in that usergroup
- Team-specific permissions - applies to any member of that team, and you can be a member of multiple teams
- User-specific permissions - applies to the user it's specified for
- Set "Can edit description" and "Can edit reproduction steps" to "Denied". They will still have the basic "Can edit basic information (...)" setting, which means the title is editable, but the "Denied" settings for editing description and reproduction steps has higher priority, which means they will not be editable.
- Unset the "Can edit basic information (...)" permission, and only set "Can edit title" to "Allowed".
- There is one important exception in effect when you're reporting an issue: If a field is set to "Required" in the reporting process, then the user will have access to this field, even if it set in the permissions manager that they are not allowed to change it. This is to stop the reporting wizard from failing if you're missing access to a required field. They still need access to a field value to set it, so if all field values are set to "Denied" then they won't have any options to choose from. They will also not be able to change it after the issue has been reported if they don't have access to do so.
- If a user has read or write access to any of the configuration pages, they will automatically see the "Configure" link in the menu. If they don't have access to any configuration page, this link will be hidden.
- The permissions setting dialog will always show if a setting is permissive or restrictive by default, by showing a faded out "Denied" or faded out "Allowed" icon.